Windows 7 Tutorial

Edit / Change the permissions of a shared file or folder in Windows 7

When you share a drive, folder, and files over the local network, they are by default set to "read only" - in other words, the folders and files in question can only be viewed, not deleted or edited. In this free Windows 7 tutorial, we will explain how to make a file editable, and give users on your network or HomeGroup more permissions to work with these shared files ("elevated privileges").


Allow users to edit or delete shared files on the network

Follow these steps to change the permissions of shared files in Windows 7:

Note: when you set a shared file permission to "Full Control", it will automatically select "Change" and "Read", since these permissions are "sub-permissions". In other words, you can explicitly allow or deny to a user the rights to full control over the shared file or folder.

up ↑
Copyright © 2016 Windows 7 Tutorial. All rights reserved — Sitemap | Disclaimer | Feedback